Music of the Week #2

http://hyperduck.bandcamp.com/track/short-fuse

Track: Short Fuse

From: Dust: An Elysian Tail

Composed by: HyperDuck SoundWorks

This week’s piece is from the amazing soundtrack to Dust: An Elysian Tail.  While I haven’t actually played the game (because I don’t have a 360… though it’s apparently coming to Steam soon.  I don’t have a lot of time for games these days, but I might check it out), I stumbled on the music by random chance a while back while looking for something else (I don’t even remember what).  Really excellent stuff, with a very otherworldly quality to it.  It makes me think of the Secret of Mana soundtrack, or at least, what that OST would sound like if it were made today, with modern sensibilities and modern sound quality.  You can listen to the entire OST by going to this page, and can buy the digital album directly from there if you like it, which I highly recommend doing!

The hardest part about using a track from Dust for Music of the Week was picking a track.  Those that I consider my favorites are all so frakin good that it made for a tough decision.  In the end, I chose this one because it’s one of the more unique tracks, combining orchestral and electronic elements in an interesting and seamless way.  The fusion of those two genres in particular is something I love, and that I always feel there isn’t enough of in the world.  I can’t help but think that this track would make a badass “main battle theme” for a classic JRPG.  In particular, the section from about 1:02 to about 1:52 is just amazingly cool.

Other favorites from the soundtrack are “Cirromon Caverns”, “The Glade”, “Abadis Forest”, “The Blackmoor Mountains”, and “Everdawn Basin”.

One thought on “Music of the Week #2

Leave a Reply

