New stuff will be posted!

Seriously! Things have been kind of crazy lately, both with work and also other things I’ve had to deal with, and of course I had already fallen behind on the pony reviews, which I still hope to rectify, possibly by this coming week. On top of that, any time I spent trying to work on projects only led to frustration as I found I’d run up against a bad case of writer’s block – or, in this case, more like “creative block”, since doing anything creative at all, including writing blog posts or even working in CC3, felt like a struggle. Usually, I try to just roll through such incidents, but in this case (probably because I was already feeling kind of frazzled anyway), it really bothered me. So that didn’t help.

In addition to all of that, some of the blame must be laid at the feet of my recent West Wing binge. I’ve been hearing for years from multiple people that it’s an amazing show, but had never seen any of it myself. Well, it’s all up on Netflix, so I gave it a shot on a whim, and haven’t been able to put it down, so to speak. I’ve been watching steadily for the last few weeks and am now a little bit into season 5. The sharp, fast-paced writing on this show is really exceptional. I can’t think of many other shows that can be this funny, this intense, and this touching, not only in the same show, but often in the same episode, and even on occasion in the same scene! It also can be quite good at keeping you on the edge of your seat, as well – that end of season 4 storyline was insane!

Anyway, I’m going to continue watching it, but at a slightly less manic pace from here on, so I’ll have a bit more time to work on other things. Part of the reason I was watching it like crazy, I think, was because I was feeling a bit overwhelmed by some of what was happening for a while, and it provided a nice escape. Things are closer to normal now, though, so I’m hoping to devote a bit more time to this blog, as well as hopefully pushing past the creative block and getting some work done on Valocea and my writing projects, which have been sorely neglected!

Also, the blog’s theme has changed again. The one I was using (Sunspot) has a lot of neat features but also some annoyances, so I thought I’d give this “Superhero” theme a try. Gonna customize it more soon. It does have the scrolling header (it follows you as you scroll down the page), which I’m not a big fan of, but it’s super slick other than that, and I can get rid of said scrolling header if I get the custom design upgrade… we’ll see.

-Saito S

Leave a Reply

